Solution Approach

INADAR is connecting the requirements of flood protection and nature conservation. 

The core of the innovative approach of dam restoration are the so-called “eco-berms”, which are designed not only to rehabilitate the dam and raise it if necessary, but also to improve the ecological situation in the riparian zones at the same time.

In contrast to classical dam raising, the necessary widening can be carried out on the water side of the dam. This way the ecosystem on the air side of the dam is protected.

The construction measure of the eco-berm consists of two parts, which are shown schematically in the figure below. Firstly, the Eco-Berm consists of infrastructural measures in which the focus is on the restoration, the raising and the sealing of the dam. Part two consists of ecological measures that guarantee the ecological improvement of the dams and the reservoir. The ecological measures make it possible to design habitats specifically for different species. Among other things, near-natural bank areas and also deadwood structures can be built in as shelter for juvenile fish.

Folie1

An essential part of the LIFE-Project was to document and evaluate the development of these measures. The aim was to assess how the different habitats are accepted by the local flora and fauna. The monitoring was carried out by the University of Innsbruck, the Technical University of Munich and the Aueninstitut Eichstätt. In the first step, the evaluation concept intends to collect the “actual state”, which serves as a reference state for the assessment of the impacts. Subsequently, the change to the reference state will be observed by means of suitable technical and ecological indicators. This is done at several points in time, including directly after implementation of the measures, one year after implementation of the measures and at the end of the project two years after implementation of the measures.

Lösungsansatz

INADAR führt die Anforderungen des Hochwasserschutzes und des Naturschutzes zusammen.

Kern des innovativen Ansatzes zur Dammsanierung sind die sogenannten „Öko-Bermen“, mit deren Hilfe der Damm nicht nur saniert und bei Bedarf erhöht werden soll, sondern gleichzeitig die ökologische Situation in den Uferzonen verbessert werden soll.

Im Gegensatz zur klassischen Dammerhöhung kann die notwendige Verbreiterung bei dieser Maßnahme auf der Wasserseite des Dammes erfolgen. Dadurch wird das Ökosystem auf der luftseitigen Dammseite geschont.

Die Baumaßnahme der Öko-Berme setzt sich dabei aus zwei Teilen zusammen, die in der untenstehenden Abbildung schematisch dargestellt sind. Zuerst besteht die Öko-Berme aus infrastrukturellen Maßnahmen, bei denen die Sanierung, die Dammerhöhung sowie die Dichtigkeit des Dammes im Vordergrund stehen. Teil zwei bilden ökologische Maßnahmen, die der ökologischen Verbesserung der Dämme und des Stauraumes dienen. Die ökologischen Maßnahmen erlauben es, Habitate gezielt für verschiedene Arten zu gestalten. Unter anderem können naturnahe Uferbereiche und auch Totholzstrukturen als Unterstand für Jungfische eingebaut werden.

Folie1

Ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des LIFE-Projektes war, die Entwicklung dieser Maßnahmen zu dokumentieren und zu evaluieren. Hierbei sollte beurteilt werden, wie die unterschiedlichen Lebensräume von der lokalen Flora und Fauna angenommen werden. Das Monitoring wurde durch die Universität Innsbruck, die TU München und das Aueninstitut Eichstätt durchgeführt. Das Evaluierungskonzept sieht vor, im ersten Schritt den „Ist-Zustand“ zu erheben, der als Referenzzustand für die Beurteilung der Auswirkungen dient. Anhand geeigneter technischer und ökologischer Indikatoren wird anschließend die Veränderung zum Referenzzustand beobachtet. Dies erfolgt zu mehreren Zeitpunkten, u.a. direkt nach Umsetzung der Maßnahmen, ein Jahr nach Umsetzung der Maßnahmen sowie zu Projektende zwei Jahre nach Implementierung der Maßnahme.