Results

Except for small delays, the project implementation went smoothly and the original approaches of the three test sections could even be improved in the course of the INADAR project. One of these advances was that it was possible to implement the eco-berms on sediments using geogrids.

INADAR has also received a lot of positive feedback from the competent authorities, even though the approach is time consuming and complex with regard to the current approval procedures.

Although the problem could be solved by a kind of “workaround” in which the permit for the construction of the eco-berm was separated from the construction of the dam raise, in general the simplification of the permitting process remains a goal for the future.

No major problems were encountered in the construction of the eco-berms and it was evident that after the initial gathering of experience, the efficiency and speed of implementation could be significantly improved. It is also expected that in the future the costs of installation can be further reduced by increasing efficiency.

Furthermore, there is no indication that dam stability could pose problems in the future. The regional flora and fauna are gradually colonizing the new habitat and it can be stated that the ecological goals of the project have been fully achieved.

In the past, the project received a lot of attention from various target groups. The events in the region were also a great success and generated a great visitor interest. The regional press regularly reported on the project and it was possible to create a comprehensive network with representatives of similar projects at various levels, ranging from regional to European.

 

Ecology

  • At least 2 ha of valuable habitats for fauna and flora
  • The number of fish species increased from 8 to 17 and the number of individual fishes increased by factor 8 in Offingen
  • 3 endangered species were already found in the new habitats
  • The number of plant species increased by about 25, including some endangered species
  • There was no impact on the existing alluvial forests – 4.000 m2 have been saved

 

Social aspects

  • All stakeholders support the approach –
  • Win-Win-Situation for all parties involved
  • Increased accessibility and quality of the river for recreational activitiess

 

Technology and economy

  • The eco-berms were successfully implemented at a total length of 1 km
  • Dam restoration / elevation and implementation of the “good ecological potential” were accomplished in one working step
  • The eco-berms are proven to be save in terms of dam stability and flood protection
  • Construction costs are significantly lower than in the traditional approach

 

Climate

  • CO2-emissions for transport of materials and concrete production were reduced

Ergebnisse

Bis auf kleine Verzögerungen verlief die Projektdurchführung reibungslos und die ursprünglichen Ansätze der drei Teststrecken konnten in´m Zuge des INADAR-Projektes sogar noch verbessert werden. Einer dieser Fortschritte war, dass es möglich war die Öko-Bermen auch auf Sedimenten umzusetzen unter der Verwendung von Geogittern.

Auch bei den zuständigen Behörden konnte INADAR viel positiven Zuspruch gewinnen, auch wenn der Ansatz hinsichtlich der aktuellen Genehmigungsverfahren zeitaufwendig und komplex ist.

Zwar konnte das Problem durch eine Art „Workaround“ gelöst werden, bei dem die Genehmigung für den Bau der Öko-Berme von dem Bau der Dammerhöhung getrennt wurde, generell bleibt die Vereinfachung des Genehmigungsprozesses jedoch ein Ziel für die Zukunft.

Bei der Konstruktion der Öko-Bermen sind keinerlei größeren Probleme aufgetreten und es ließ sich erkennen, dass nach erstem Sammeln an Erfahrungen die Effizienz und Geschwindigkeit der Umsetzung signifikant verbessert werden konnte. Erwartet wird überdies, dass in der Zukunft die Kosten des Einbaus durch die Effizienzsteigerung weiter gemindert werden können.

Zudem gibt es keinerlei Anzeichen dafür, dass die Dammstabilität zukünftig Probleme darstellen könnte. Die regionale Flora und Fauna besiedelt Schritt für Schritt den neuen Lebensraum und es kann festgestellt werden, dass die ökologischen Ziele des Projektes umfassend erreicht wurden.

Das Projekt erhielt in der Vergangenheit viel Aufmerksamkeit von verschiedensten Zielgruppen. Auch die Veranstaltungen in der Region waren ein voller Erfolg und vermittelten ein reges Besucherinteresse. In der regionalen Presse wurde regelmäßig über das Projekt berichtet und es war möglich ein umfassendes Netzwerk zu Vertretern ähnlicher Projekte auf verschiedensten Ebenen, die von regional bis europaweit reichen, zu schaffen.

 

Ökologie

  • Mindestens 2 ha wertvolle Lebensräume für Fauna und Flora
  • Die Zahl der Fischarten stieg von 8 auf 17 und die Anzahl der einzelnen Fische stieg um den Faktor 8 in Offingen
  • 3 gefährdete Arten wurden bereits in den neuen Lebensräumen wiedergefunden
  • Die Zahl der Pflanzenarten nahm um etwa 25 zu, einschließlich einiger gefährdeter Arte
  • Es gab keine Auswirkungen auf die bestehenden Auenwälder – 4.000 m2 wurden eingespart

 

Soziale Aspekte

  • Alle Beteiligten unterstützen den Ansatz –
  • Win-Win-Situation für alle beteiligten Parteien
  • Verbesserte Zugänglichkeit und Qualität des Flusses für Freizeitaktivitäten

 

Technik und Wirtschaft

  • Die Öko-Bermen wurden erfolgreich umgesetzt bei einer Gesamtlänge von 1 km
  • Staudammsanierung / Erhöhung und Umsetzung des “guten ökologischen Potentials” wurden in einem Arbeitsschritt vollzogen
  • Die Öko-Bermen sind nachweislich sicher in ihrer Dammstabilität und im Hochwasserschutzes
  • Deutlich niedrigere Baukosten im Vergleich zum traditionellen Ansatz

 

Klima

  • CO2-Emissionen für den Transport von Material und die Produktion von Beton wurden reduziert